They say

They tell me that I have nothing to be afraid of.
That the monsters are all in my imagination
They tell me that nothing can hurt me now.
I want to believe them.
Then the phone rings,
The email dings,
The doorbell chimes
and my heart sinks to my knees.
They say that I can control it,
That I don’t trust God enough.
They say I need to just let it go
I want to believe them.
Then I have to try to sleep
The fear invades
The nightmares are real
and my mind spins out of control.
They say so much to me
Their words are meaningless
My reality
My fear and my anxiety are real.
I cannot believe them anymore.
2 thoughts on “They say

Add yours

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

