Fatherly Love

I have been thinking about the love of a Father. Let me share some thoughts with you here.

One of my earliest memories is of my daddy was when I was in kindergarten and had disobediently followed my brothers home from the bus and down through a ditch full of snow. A ditch that my parents had told me previously to stay out of. I became very, very stuck as the snow behind me fell into my path and the snow in front of me got deeper and deeper stopping my ability to walk forward. Very soon, I was stuck up to my armpits in snow. I could NOT move. I knew I had completely disobeyed my dads words but without hesitation I started screaming to him for help. “DADDDDDDY! DDDAAAAAADDDDDYYYY!” It only took a few minutes and across the snowy field I spotted my dad plunging through the snow toward me as fast as he could go. It seemed as though nothing could stop him. My little heart swelled with joy and security.  As he got closer to me I could see the concern on his face and I heard his voice speak reassuringly to me. “it’s ok sweet pea, daddy’s coming.”  Before I knew it my daddy was above me. He reached down into that pile of snow and picked me up. He carried me on his shoulders all the way back home where he helped me take off my wet clothes and get dry by the stove. Then I sat on his lap and played safely.

This is the daddy I grew up with. And this is just one of many memories of how he came through for me. I never once doubted that My daddy would put his life on the line for me. My daddy welcomed me at 4am every morning before he left for a long day of work logging trees and gladly listened to my childish jabber and allowed me to eat his cereal. My daddy always told me I looked pretty on Sabbath morning and was sure to let my snowballs hit him during a snowball fight. My daddy was quick to laugh and sensitive enough to cry. He set unmovable boundaries for me like the weekend I wanted to go into the states with friends and he said “no”. I always knew that my daddy would rescue me no matter what trouble,  no matter what joy and no matter if it was all my fault! My daddy took time to be my daddy.

This is what I know of my Father in Heaven. He is like my daddy. He comes through for me, will die for me, nothing is too large or too small that I cannot talk to him at anytime of day. He delights in my beauty. My Father sets boundaries for me because He loves me. He talks to me and welcomes me to talk to Him. Everything my earthly daddy is…my Heavenly Father is plus more!

I am sad when I realize that not every child has had the daddy experience that I had. Their daddy’s chose very different things. Selfish, absent, unkind, abusive and unloving daddy’s have torn down the picture of God that we should have had through them. It astounds me to realize the extent that some earthly fathers have gone to in wounding their children. The Bible says in Luke 11:11   11 “Which of you fathers, if your son asks for[a] a fish, will give him a snake instead? 12 Or if he asks for an egg, will give him a scorpion? 13 If you then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him!”

God wanted us to understand that the love He has for us is even MORE , even BETTER than a perfect earthly father has for his kids. Look at all the promises He has given us in the Bible.

What our Heavenly Father is like:

He loves us

Jer 31:3: Jn 13:1; 16:27: Eph 5:1: 1Jn3:1

He has compassion on us

Ps 103’13: Mt 9:36; 14:14; Lk 15:20: 2Co 1:3

He delights in us

Ps 147:11; 149:4; Pr 8:30-31; Zep 3:17

He cares for us

Dt 32:10-11; 1Pe 5:7

He calls us His beloved friends

Dt 33:12;Jn 15:13-15; Jas 2:23

He relates intimately to us and calls us by name

Job 29:4; Isa 43:1-2; Jn 10-14. 27

He gives us constant attention

Dt 31:8; Ps 34:15; 139:16; Mt2820

He nurtures us

Ps 27:10: Hos 1.1:1-4

He encourages and affirms us

Isa 41:8-13: Lk 12:32

He is patient and gentle with us

Ps 103:8; Mt 11:29; 2Co 10:1; 1Ti 1:16: 2Pe 3.9

He instructs and guides us

Ps 32:8; Isa 48:17; Jn 8:12; 14:26

He provides for us

Ps 23:1; 34:9; Jn 16:24

He enjoys giving us good gifts

Jer 32:40; Lk 11:13; Jas 1:17

He is kind and forgiving

 

Ps 86:5; Jer 9:24; Mie 7:18-20; Eph 2:7; Tit 3:4-5

He disciplines us in a good way because He loves us

Jer 46:28; Heb 12:5-11

I am so thankful that my earthly father and my heavenly Father are so much alike. I am sad that I know of children and of people who are not as blessed as I. I am hopeful because I know that God promises to change our perspective of our earthly father and will be a Father to you” (2Co 6:18) Unlike so many earthly fathers, God can’t and won’t stop loving you. There is nothing that can separate you from Gods fatherly love. Rom 8:35-39

Today, my daddy still shows me his unfailing love. He is also showing my children the love of a strong grandfather. I am so thankful for him! I am so thankful that my Heavenly Father gave me my earthly father. Thank you daddy , for pointing me to Jesus!

 

One thought on “Fatherly Love

Add yours

  1. A very moving narrative about her relationship with her earthly and heavenly father.
    The thoughfulness and love show through the words and leave one ovewhelmed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

