A New Year

In the spirit of the New Year 2012, I am joining the throngs of people who are thinking about what is gonna change for them. I want to come at it in a new personal way this year though. I want to come at it from a place of healing, a focus on Jesus and a strong desire to live ONLY in His will.

I hesitate to make ‘promises’ or ‘resolutions’ it seems to me that once we fail on those we are defeated and never able to pick up the boat where we left off. So I will state my wishes as desires for the new year.

I look at my family and every month I grow more and more thankful that My children are mine. I love each one of them of course and as they grow I am seeing strengths and weaknesses, delights and worries…I am getting to know them as people. People who Jesus died for, longs for.

I want to lead my family to Jesus in what ever ways are developmentally appropriate for them as individuals. I want to become a strong spiritual leader in my home. I want to reflect Christ to my children. In the same way a husband and wife partner together to raise their children, I want to literally partner with Christ in raising my kids. There is no father in our home. I have grieved this, moaned this and finally found healing in Jesus regarding the failure of men toward my family. Part of that healing is to recognize and appreciate the strong spiritual men God has provided for my children. They have a grandpa, uncles, great uncles, a neighbor, friends and church leaders who all in one way or another have stepped in to ‘father’ my children in ways that I cannot. I am SO thankful for these strong, unafraid men who have embraced my kids and loved them like Jesus. Recently I have begun taking my parenting issues to Christ. Asking specifically for help when dealing with very specific issues that come up in our family. He has always come through. He has given me the thought, the words, the attitude the joke…things I would NEVER have come up with on my own but with Him as their ‘everyday’ dad….We’ll make it 😀

I am seeking Christ in where he wants my family to be next. Are we ment to stay living in the home we are in? Are we called to move? If so, where? The leading I have so far on this issue is that I am supposed to look for something in the country. My children need open spaces, a place to roam and grow. I want them to be able to go dig a hole to china or climb a tree. I desire a place  that will be our ‘forever’ house until Jesus returns or He calls us somewhere else. I want to put down roots.

I want to take my children on the long time promised and looked forward to Disney Cruise on the Disney Dream. We have dreamed about this for a long time as a family…I want to finally make this dream come true.

 

These are the big ones. Of course like everyone else I also want to lose 10 lbs, eat healthier, get in shape, make more money etc etc etc. Most of all I want, with all my heart to live close to Jesus and bring my family closer to His heart as well.

 

Love in the Home

 

If I live in a house of spotless beauty
with everything in its place, but have not Love,
I am a housekeeper—not a homemaker.

If I have time for waxing, polishing, and decorative
achievements, but have not Love,
my children learn cleanliness—not godliness.

Love leaves the dust in search of a child’s laugh.
Love smiles at the tiny fingerprints
on a newly cleaned window.
Love wipes away the tears before it wipes up
the spilled milk.
Love picks up the child before it picks up the toys.

Love is present through the trials.
Love reprimands, reproves, and is responsive.
Love crawls with the baby, walks with the toddler,
        runs with the child, then stands aside
to let the youth walk into adulthood.

Love is the key that opens salvation’s message
to a child’s heart.

Before I became a mother I took glory in my house of perfection. Now I glory in God’s perfection of my child. As a mother, there is much I must teach my child, but the greatest of all is Love.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

